After only two days at Carrington Louis van Gaal has now taken United over to the USA for a pre-season tour. In his first press conference after his arrival at the club the new manager stressed that he would take his time to assess his squad and they would need some time to adjust to his “philosophy”. Given the pre-season timescales much of that assessment will be done on the road, and given that tour games are all public events any pre-season experimentation will take place in public. This will be fascinating and www.manutdtactics , collaborating with our Stateside friend Edikan Umana have decided to take a regular look at United’s progress in each of the tour games. You can read Eddie’s work at www.trulyreds.com and follow him on twitter @EddieTrulyReds.

Our reviews will be brief, similar in format to our look at Holland’s games at the recent World Cup, rather than the full reports we produce during the domestic season.

Van Gaal has chosen to take a squad of twenty five to the States comprising a mix of established players and youngsters. Significant absentees are Carrick, Anderson and Powell, (all injured), van Persie, (still on post World Cup breaks), Evra, (expected to leave the club in the next few weeks) and surprisingly Tom Lawrence and James Wilson who featured in the final game of last season. Hernandez is expected to meet up with the squad at some point travelling direct from Mexico.

The full squad is:

De Gea, Lindegaard, Amos, Johnstone, Rafael, Evans, Smalling, Jones, Shaw, M Keane, James, Blackett, Herrera, Cleverley, Fletcher, Young, Zaha, Kagawa, Mata, Valencia, Nani, Lingard, Welbeck, Rooney and W Keane.

United will play a minimum of four matches followed by a final should they qualify for that game:

United v LA Galaxy Chevrolet Cup, Rose Bowl, Pasadena
24 July 2014, KO 04:06 BST / local time 23 July, 20:06 PT

United v AS Roma International Champions Cup, Sports Authority Field, Denver
26 July 2014, KO 21:06 BST / local time 26 July, 14:06 MT

United v Inter Milan International Champions Cup, FedEx Field, Washington DC
30 July 2014, KO 00:30 BST / local time 29 July, 19:30 ET

United v Real Madrid International Champions Cup, Michigan Stadium, Ann Arbor
2 August 2014, KO 21:06 BST / local time 2 August, 16:06 ET

International Champions Cup final Sun Life Stadium, Miami
5 August 2014, KO 01:00 BST / local time 4 August, 20:00 ET

Should United qualify for the final they would play either Manchester City, Liverpool, Milan or Olympiakos.